Raindeer … er, Reindeer Ramble

20121209-064703.jpg

It was a dreary day in Lexington, KY for yesterday’s  YMCA Reindeer Ramble 5k, but that didn’t stop 1,300 runners, many of whom were decked out in their craziest Christmas gear, from having a great time. It also didn’t stop me from having what turned out to be one of the running highlights of my year.

Though it drizzled nearly the entire race, I enjoyed running the course at Keeneland. The hills came early, allowing for more speed during the second half of the race. I was feeling good and had a strong kick at the end to finish at 23:12 (7:29 miles). I found out later that my time was good enough to earn me third in my age group and my first ever age group medal!

If you’re looking to have some holiday fun at a well-organized race, the Reindeer Ramble is a good bet. Lots of people ran in costume. There were penguins, Santas, cookies and milk for the big guy (pictured above), and even a full-on nativity scene with one guy dressed as a manager. Chip timing was provided by 3 Way Racing, who offered live streaming results as soon as runners crossed the finish line, a very nice feature, in my opinion. The weather couldn’t get anyone’s spirits down, especially mine. I couldn’t have asked for a better race to end the year on.

Leave a comment